Our Mothers…

People had been moving about much before the “lockdowns” in major cities. In an online conversation amongst mates who had recently separated, was a heated discussion about their new jobs. One was complaining of the meagre salary while another yapped about extra workload and the tight deadlines. A lady who had been awfully quiet, face down, looked up with intensity in her eyes:

“I don’t know about you. I think my job is the most difficult and complicated. I work 24hours a day, seven days a week. The only tweak has it that my client should always be satisfied. Whether its in the middle of the night, early morning or late evening, I have to be available for him. It doesn’t matter whether am sad or tired, when he calls am up for him. Although am not guaranteed of a salary- and if at all am paid, its years after the job is done…” she said. Her friends wouldn’t even let her finish, they were poking questions already.

“How much are they paying? ”

“That’s against all the labor laws I know!! “

“Damn girl, you should quit! “

She sighed, smiled delightfully and said. ” I cannot quit. I’m a mother and that’s the job.”

Here comes a day when you get to celebrate your first best friend and the person you turn to for virtually everything.

It is not an understatement to say a mother’s love is only second to Agape love. Unconditional, unwavering and most beautiful.

To all mothers out there. We love you and we thank you for everything.

Youth fades, love droops. The leaves of friendship falls. A mother’s secret hope outlives them all

Published by S. Jummah

Philanthropic and open minded. I like to share my experiences and those of my acquaintances. I hope you will be entertained as you pick a thing or two.

9 thoughts on “Our Mothers…

Leave a comment